THE STRONG HEART STUDY V

 

CARDIOVASCULAR DISEASE IN AMERICAN INDIANS

 

DIRECTORY

 

 

 

 

Arizona MedStar Health Research Institute

MedStar Health Research Institute

6525 Belcrest Rd. Ste. 700

Hyattsville, Md. 20782

Main Phone: (301) 560-7300

 

Barbara Howard, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

Office: (301) 560-7302

FAX:   (301) 560-7307

Pager & Cell:  (301) 602-0125

Phoenix Office: (602) 277-0488

E-mail: Barbara.V.Howard@medstar.net

 

William James Howard, M.D.

Adjudicator, Mortality Review

Endocrinologist/Lipidologist

Washington Hospital Center

110 Irving Street, NW, Rm. 6A-126

Washington, DC  20010

Office: (202) 257-8170

FAX:   (202) 877‑8024

E-mail: Wm.James.Howard@medstar.net

 

 

 

 

Laboratory Center

Penn Medical Laboratory

MedStar Health Research Institute

6525 Belcrest Rd. Ste. 700

Hyattsville, Md. 20782

Phone:  (301) 560-2699

FAX:  (301) 560-7325

 

Jason G. Umans, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Penn Medical Laboratory

Office: (301) 560-2959

E-mail: Jason.G.Umans@MedStar.net

 

 

Min Tun

Contact for the field centers

Office: (301) 560-2961

E-mail: Min.Tun@medstar.net

Jianhui Zhu

Technical Director, Penn Medical Laboratory

Office: (301) 560-2960

E-mail: Jianhui.Zhu@medstar.net

 

 

 

 

Arizona Field Center

The Aztec Building – Strong Heart Study

1616 E. Indian School, Ste. 480

Phoenix, AZ 85016

Office:  (602) 277-0488

FAX:    (602) 277-5979

 

Darren Calhoun PhD

Scientific Director, Phoenix Office

Co-Investigator

Cell: 307-851-2456

E-mail: Darren.Calhoun@medstar.net

Callen Hull, R.N.

SHS Nurse Manager/SHS Coordinator

Office: 602-277-0488

Cell: 602-486-1453

E-mail: callen.p.hull@medstar.net

 

 

Diane F Hollowbreast

Research Recruiter

Office: 602-277-0488

E-mail: diane.f.hollowbreast@medstar.net

Celina Garza

Research Assistant/ Research Recruiter

Office: 602-277-0488

E-mail: celinagarza@medstar.net

 

 

 

 

Dakotas Center

Lyle Best, M.D.

Principal Investigator

1935 118th Ave

Watford City, ND 58854

Phone: (701) 842-6770

FAX:  (701) 842-6770 (notify by phone before sending fax)

E-mail: lbest@restel.com

 

Stacy Jolley, MD, MAS, FACP

Principal Investigator

Cleveland Clinic Medicine Institute

Assistant Professor, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine

9500 Euclid Avenue G10

Cleveland, OH 44195

Office G1-161

Office: (216) 445-6414

FAX: (216) 445-1007

E-mail: jollys@ccf.org

 

Jeffrey A. Henderson, M.D., M.P.H.

Co-Investigator

President and CEO

Black Hills Center for American Indian Health

701 St. Joseph Street, Suite 204

Rapid City, SD 57701

Office:  (605) 348-6100

FAX:    (605) 348-6990

E-mail: jhenderson@bhcaih.org

Thomas K. Welty, M.D., M.P.H.

Co-Investigator

Strong Heart Study-Dakota Center

939 Flynn Lane

McCall, ID 83638

Home: (208) 634-5279

FAX:   (208) 989-0340

E-mail: twelty@earthlink.net

 

 

Strong Heart Study-Dakota Center

Missouri Breaks Industries Research, Inc.

118 S. Willow Street

PO Box 1824

Eagle Butte, SD  57625

(Address good for Express Service)

Office: (605) 964-1260

FAX:   (605) 964-1263

 

 

 

Marcia O’Leary, R.N. MBIRI Manager

Phone: 605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: Marcia.Oleary@mbiri.com

Joe Yracheta, Research Scientist

Phone: 605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: joseph.yracheta@mbiri.com

 

 

Kendra Enright, R.N.

Phone:  605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: kendra.enright@mbiri.com

Arlene Black Bird, R.N.

Morbity/Mortality Coordinator

Phone: 605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: arlene.blackbird@mbiri.com

 

 

Marie Gross, R.N.

Phone: 605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: marie.gross@mbiri.com

Patty Picotte, Executive Assistant

Phone: 605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: patty.picotte@mbiri.com

 

 

Wendy Lawrence, R.N.

Phone:  605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: wendy.lawrence@mbiri.com

Terilyn Halfred, Research Assistant 

Phone:  605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: terilyn.halfred@mbiri.com

 

 

Laurel Le Beau, Research Assistant

Phone: 650-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: laurel.lebeau@mbiri.com

Alli Moran, Research Assistant

Phone:  505-946-3418 

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: alli.moran@mbiri.com

 

 

Florence Halfred, Research Assistant

Phone:  605-964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: florence.halfred@mbiri.com

Lillian Brown – Recruiter 

Phone:  964-3418

Fax:  605-964-1263

E-mail: lillian.brown@mbiri.com

 

 

Ann LaCompte, Bookkeeper

Phone:  605-865-3650

Fax:  605-865-3569

E-mail: ann.lacompte@mbiri.com

 

 

Martin Clinic

 

209 Main Street, PO Box 1068

Martin, SD 57551

Office:  605-685-6772

Fax:  605-964-1263

 

 

Annabelle Black Bear, Recruiter

Phone:  605-685-6772

E-mail: annabelle.blackbear@mbiri.com

Paula Nelson

Research Assistant

E-mail: Paula.nelson@mbiri.com

 

 

Oklahoma

 

Oklahoma City Coordinating Center

Center for American Indian Health Research

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

P. O. Box 26901, Rm. CHB100

Oklahoma City, OK  73126

Express Service, change last two lines to:

801 NE 13th St., Rm. CHB100

Oklahoma City, OK 73104

FAX:   (405) 271‑4390

 

Elisa T. Lee, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

Office: (405) 271‑3090

E-mail: elisa-lee@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Tauqeer Ali, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.B.B.S.

Co-Investigator

Field Director

Office: (405) 271-3090 x46725

Email: tauqeer-ali@ouhsc.edu

Fawn Yeh, Ph.D.

Epidemiologist

Office: (405) 271-3090 x46733

E-mail: fawn-yeh@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Wenyu Wang, Ph.D.

Senior Statistician

Office: (405) 271-3090 x46723

E-mail: wenyu-wang@ouhsc.edu

Jeunliang Yeh, Ph.D.

Epidemiologist

Office: (405) 271‑3090 x. 46716

E-mail: jeunliang-yeh@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Evelyn Lanham

Project Assistant

Office:  (405) 271-3090  x46726

E-mail:  evelyn-lanham@ouhsc.edu

Ying Zhang, Ph.D.

Statistician

Office: (405) 271-3090 x46720

E-mail: ying-zhang4@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Cheryl Tarlton, LPN

Medical Records Abstractor

Office:  (405) 271-3090  x30887

E-mail:  cheryl-tarlton@ouhsc.edu

Kylie Vardaman

Medical Records Abstractor

Office: (405) 271-3090 x

E-mail: kylie-vardaman@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Lawton Area:

Strong Heart Study

1515 NE Lawrie Tatum Road

Lawton, OK 73507

 

 

 

Nicole Asepermy

Office:   (580) 353-1163

E-mail: nicole-asepermy@ouhsc.edu

Melinda Shackelford

Office: (580) 353-1163

E-mail: melinda-shackelford@ouhsc.edu

 

 

Anadarko Area:

Strong Heart Study

513 N. First Street

Anadarko, OK 73005

 

 

 

Nicole Asepermy

Office:   (405) 247-1023

E-mail: nicole-asepermy@ouhsc.edu

Melinda Shackelford

Office: (405) 247-1002

E-mail: melinda-shackelford@ouhsc.edu

 

 

 

ECG, Ultrasound, & MRI Reading Center

Weill Cornell Medical College

520 East 70th Street

New York, NY 10021

 

Richard B. Devereux, M.D.

Principal Investigator

Director, Laboratory of Echocardiography

Office: (212) 746-4655

FAX:   (212) 746-8561

E-mail: rbdevere@med.cornell.edu  or

Home: cdevereux@mem.po.com

 

 

Mary J. Roman, M.D.

Co-Investigator

Office: (212) 746-4685

FAX:   (212) 746-8561

E-mail: mroman@med.cornell.edu

Kiran Bambha, MD

Consultant

Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

University of Colorado Health Sciences Ctr

12631 East 17th Avenue, MS B-158

AO1 Building, Room 7605

Aurora, CO  80045

Email:  kiran.bambha@ucdenver.edu

 

 

Claude B. Sirlin, MD

Associate Professor of Radiology

Chief, Body MRI

Director, Liver Imaging Research Group

University of California, San Diego

408 Dickinson St

San Diego, CA  92103-8226

Fax: 619-471-0503

Phone: 619-471-0513

Email:  csirlin@ucsd.edu

Giovanni de Simone, M.D., F.A.C.C., F.A.H.A.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Director, Echocardiography Laboratory

Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine

Federico II University HospitalSchool of Medicine

Via S. Pansini 5

80131 Napoli – Italy

Office: +39(081)746-2013

Fax:    +39(081)546-6152

E-mail: echocard@unina.it

Alternate e-mail: simogi@unina.it

 

 

Peter Okin, M.D.

ECG

Office: (212) 746-4688

E-mail: pokin@med.cornell.edu

Virginia Burns, B.A.

Consultant

E-mail: vburns@ptd.net

 

 

 

 

SHS Genetics Center

Department of Genetics

Texas Biomedical Research Institute*

P.O. Box 760549

San Antonio, TX 78245-0549

Express Service, change last two lines to:

7620 NW Loop 410

San Antonio, TX 78227-5301

Texas Biomed Main Phone: (210) 258-9400

* formerly the Southwest Foundation for Biomedical Research

 

Shelley A. Cole, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

Chair, Strong Heart Study Steering Committee

Office: (210) 258-9688

FAX: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: scole@txbiomed.org

 

 

Jack Kent, Jr., Ph.D.

Co-Investigator

Office: (210) 258-9570

FAX:   (210) 258-9131

E-mail: jkent@txbiomed.org

Karin Haack, Ph.D.

Co-Investigator

Office: (210) 258-9887

FAX: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: khaack@txbiomed.org

 

 

Vanessa Ayala

Office: (210) 258-9797

Fax: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: vayala@txbiomed.org

Grace-Ellen Meixner  

Office: (210) 258-9843

Fax: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: gmeixner@txbiomed.org

 

 

Debbie Newman

Office: (210) 258-9799

Fax: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: dnewman@txbiomed.org

Maria del Pilar Villegas

Office: (210) 258-9843

Fax: (210) 258-9131

E-mail: mvillega@txbiomed.org

 

 

Jean W. MacCluer, Ph.D.

Consultant

E-mail: jeanm@swiconics.net

 

 

 

NHLBI Program Office

NIH/NHLBI

Two Rockledge Center

6701 Rockledge Dr.

Bethesda, MD  20892-7938

 

Mona Puggal

Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

National Institute of Health

6701 Rockledge Dr, MSC 7936

Suite 10018

Bethesda, MD 20892-7936

Office: (301) 435-0704

FAX:   (301) 480-1455

E-mail: mona.puggal@nih.gov

Paul Sorlie, Ph.D.

Chief Epidemiology Branch

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Room 10210, Mailstop 7936

Two Rockledge Center

6701 Rockledge Dr

Bethesda, MD 20892

Office: (301) 435-0456

FAX:   (301) 480-1455

E-mail: Paul.Sorlie@nih.hhs.gov

 

 

 

bd15155_

[Back to SHS Home Page]